Nursery Curriculum

Children in Nursery follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum. There are seven areas of learning:

The Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED) – Managing Feelings, Making Relationships, Self Confidence and Self Awareness 
  • Communication and Language (CL) – Speaking, Understanding, Listening and Attention
  • Physical Development (PD) – Moving and Handling, Health and Self Care

The Specific Areas

  • Literacy - Reading and Writing
  • Mathematics – Number, Shape, Space and Measure
  • Understanding The World – Technology, People and Communities, The World
  • Expressive Arts and Design – Being Imaginative, Exploring and Using Media and Materials

We carefully assess children during their time with us, and regularly review their progress to ensure that our planned activities are meeting their needs. We use Tapestry to capture children’s individual achievements; these will be shared with parents and carers. West Ewell Primary School and Nursery highly values the partnership with families and we encourage notes about children’s achievements outside the nursery environment.

To find out more about the curriculum we follow, please click on the following link:

Development Matters


Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now